Australian High Commission
New Delhi
India, Bhutan

Development cooperation

Pending Approval

The Australian Government’s overseas aid program advances Australia’s national interest by assisting developing countries to reduce poverty and achieve economic development. Information about Australia’s development program is available here.

South Asia Regional Aid Program

The South Asia Regional program seeks to underpin Australia’s economic engagement in the region by addressing key region-wide barriers to sustainable economic growth. Gender equality will be a focus in all our investments under the regional program. The South Asia Regional program focuses on two inter-related objectives:

Objective 1: Increased water, food and energy security in South Asia to facilitate economic growth and improve the livelihoods of the poor and vulnerable (particularly women and girls)

Objective 2: Increased regional connectivity through trade facilitation and infrastructure connectivity

For more information on the programs under these objectives please visit

Direct Aid Program

Through the Direct Aid Program (DAP), the Australian High Commission in New Delhi and Australian Consulates in Chennai and Mumbai support small-scale, sustainable grassroots development projects in India and Bhutan.

For more information, click here.

Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)

ACIAR is an Australian Government statutory authority that operates as part of Australia's aid program within the portfolio of Foreign Affairs and Trade. It was established in 1982 to assist and encourage Australia's agricultural scientists to use their skills for the benefit of developing countries but also to work to resolve Australia's own agricultural problems. Australia has an exceptionally strong capacity in agricultural research and development, and is also unique amongst developed countries in possessing large agricultural areas in the tropics and subtropics.

ACIAR South Asia

ACIAR's bilateral program with India was initiated in 1982 and the South Asia office was set up in India in 1997. The South Asia region comprises India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Iraq. Our region currently accounts for less than 15% of ACIAR's bilateral program. Our projects are mostly bilateral, although occasionally we do undertake multilateral projects.  For more information on ACIAR’s program, click on